More UEFA prizes: Real clears – Kroos goes out empty-handed


UEFA honoured Europe’s Footballer of the Year in the Champions League group draw. The European Football Association also awarded prizes in other categories.

As last year, UEFA awarded prizes to the best players of the previous season in the premier league. In all four parts of the team, three outstanding players were nominated on a shortlist in advance. One each received the prize on Thursday evening.

Goalkeeper for the 2017/18 Champions League season: Keylor Navas

Real Madrid’s Keylor Navas was named best keeper. The Costa Rican international, who has been competing with Thibaut Courtois for a place in the Blancos goal since this season, won the premier league for the third time in a row last year. The 31-year-old prevailed against Alisson Becker (Roma, now Liverpool), also nominated, and last year’s winner Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, now Paris). Marc-André ter Stegen narrowly missed out on the shortlist and finished fourth. Sven Ulreich from Bayern Munich finished tenth. Although this results made them not so happy, but the sport betting bonus will surely be a good one.

Keylor Navas Honours

    • Real Madrid
  • La Liga: 2016–17
  • Supercopa de España: 2017
  • UEFA Champions League: 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18
  • UEFA Super Cup: 2014, 2017
  • FIFA Club World Cup: 2014, 2016, 2017
    • Individual
  • CONCACAF Gold Cup Best Goalkeeper: 2009
  • CONCACAF Gold Cup All-Tournament Team: 2009
  • La Liga Player of the Month: March 2014
  • LFP Awards Best Goalkeeper: 2013–14
  • CONCACAF Player of the Year: 2014, 2017
  • FIFPro World XI 4th team: 2015, 2016, 2017
  • Trofeo EFE: 2016
  • CONCACAF Goalkeeper of the Year: 2016, 2017
  • Facebook FA La Liga Best Goalkeeper: 2016
  • UEFA Champions League Squad of the Season: 2017–18
  • UEFA Champions League Goalkeeper of the Season: 2017–18

Defender of the Champions League season 2017/18: Sergio Ramos

As last year, Reals Sergio Ramos was awarded the title of best defender in the Champions League season. The Spaniard has recently been criticised for his unfair play, particularly in the final against Liverpool FC. Ramos and his team-mates Marcelo and Raphael Varane were nominated for the final. Joshua Kimmich and Mats Hummels of FC Bayern finished eighth and ninth.


Midfielder of the 2016/17 Champions League season: Luka Modric

Luka Modric of Real Madrid won against Toni Kroos (Real Madrid) and Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), who are also on the shortlist. The 32-year-old, who had advanced to the final with Croatia at the 2018 World Cup in Russia, was considered a big favourite.

Striker of the 2017/18 Champions League season: Cristiano Ronaldo

Last year’s winner and favourite also won in the field of storms – who else but Cristiano Ronaldo? The Portuguese, who has now joined Juventus Turin, prevailed over his permanent rivals Lionel Messi (Barcelona) and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah (Liverpool).

UEFA President’s Prize: David Beckham

With the UEFA President’s Prize, the association honours special football personalities. David Beckham received the award this year. “We know David Beckham from the great football stadiums of the world. But even more important is that he is now using the power of football to help the disadvantaged,UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin stressed the social commitment of the former English international. Francesco Totti received the award last year. Other award winners include Franz Beckenbauer and Johan Cruyff. With this sportsbook online can be promoted wisely.

UEFA QualGame Award: Guram Kashia

Guram Kashia from Georgia was awarded the #EqualGame prize. The international received the award “for his courageous public commitment to equal treatment,” according to a UEFA statement. The 31-year-old, a professional of the Dutch first division team Vitesse Arnhem, wore a rainbow-coloured captain’s armband last season together with other team leaders of the Dutch premier league. He wanted to express his support for the LGBT community, but in some circles in his homeland he was met with fierce rejection. The central defender was even asked to resign from the national team.

I congratulate Guram on his strong attitude and courage. He has made an important mark in support of the LGBT community and equal treatment in general and has earned this award. Although his actions have exposed him to threats and verbal abuse from many sides, he has stood up for tolerance and acceptance and helped to change the perception of this minority group in his home country of Georgia,” said UEFA President Ceferin. Kashia, who now plays for the San José Earthquakes in the MLS, expressed his gratitude for the award in a video message. The prize was accepted by Georgian association president Levan Kobiashvili, who had already strengthened Kashia’s back before. The Sunmaker Test will also prove its way.